Tools for Watershed Health: MWCC 2019 Annual Meeting

Date / Time: January 29, 2019 12:00 am

MWCC’s 2019 Annual Meeting, held on January 29 in Helena, brought together more than 100 watershed professionals to share ideas, learn skills for watershed health, and learn more about MWCC progress and programs. This Training post includes brief overview presentations from the “Tools for Watershed Health” portion of the meeting, where participants learned about eight online data resources that can be used to assess watershed characteristics and help identify project opportunities. After these initial presentations, participants went in-depth on three of the tools during 30-minute breakout sessions. Scroll down to see the presentations, as well as contact information for each presenter.

The 2019 Annual Meeting began with a presentation from Meta Lofftsgarten and Courtney Shaff of the Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board, on the Oregon approach to supporting watershed health statewide. It also included an agency panel that provided our Watershed Partners with a platform for engaging with representatives of the Montana Department of Environmental Quality, Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation, Montana Fish, Wildlife & Parks, Montana Department of Agriculture, and the federal Natural Resources Conservation Service.

Thank you to all of our presenters, as well as to our Annual Meeting sponsors: Montana Department of Natural Resources and Conservation, Montana Department of Environmental Quality, and SWCA Environmental Consultants.

Montana Natural Heritage Program Field Guide, Species Snapshot, and Map Viewer – Bryce Maxell, Montana Natural Heritage Program, BMaxell@mt.gov

Headwaters Economics Economic Profile System – Scott Story, Headwaters Economics, scott@headwaterseconomics.org

MSU Extension Water Quality Data Hub – Adam Sigler, MSU Extension, asigler@montana.edu

Surface Water Assessment and Monitoring Program – Luke Buckley, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology, lbuckley@mtech.edu

Ground Water Information Center – James Madison, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology, JMadison2@mtech.edu

NRCS Rangeland Analysis Platform – Matt Jones, University of Montana, matt.jones@mso.umt.edu

Sage Grouse Green Indicators – Matt Jones, University of Montana, matt.jones@mso.umt.edu

Montana DEQ Clean Water Act Information Center and Non Point Source Projects Map – Hannah Riedl, Montana Department of Environmental Quality, Hannah.Riedl@mt.gov – No presentation provided.

 

Thank you to our Annual Meeting Sponsors!

Montana Watershed Coordination Council